Cartago is the smallest province in the country with almost 3125 km² and a population of 500 315, third biggest in the country. It was the country capital until 1823, when it was taken to San José. It has eight hydroelectric plants that provide energy to some parts of the country.
Among their main crops we can find potatoes, coffee, vegetables, sugar cane, macadamia, flowers and pejibaye.


Its mountain relief consists of the Central Mountains (where Irazu and Turrialba volcanoes meet) and the Talamanca Mountains. It has a tropical humid weather with precipitations going from 2600 mm and 6000mm depending on the season, temperature is between 12 and 20 °C all year round.
Landscape and vegetation consists of woods, palms, ferns and bushes. Among the main attractions we can find volcanoes, lakes, dams, rivers and hot springs